ACTE Announces 2023 National Award Finalists


September 20, 2022

Contact: Jori Houck — (ACTE)


ACTE Announces 2023 National Award Finalists

ALEXANDRIA, VA—Today, the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) announced its 2023 national finalists in eight different award categories. Finalists were announced for Teacher of the Year, Postsecondary Educator of the Year, Administrator of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Teacher Educator of the Year, Counseling and Career Development Professional Award, Lifetime Achievement and Carl Perkins Community Service Awards.

The national winner will be announced at the ACTE Awards Gala, an award presentation recognizing the best CTE educators in the country. The event will take place on November 30 at 7:00 p.m. The Awards Gala is sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, Goodheart-Willcox, CareerSafe and Stratasys. For more information about the ACTE Excellence Awards, visit our webpage.


Carl Perkins Community Service Award

Linda Romano–Newburgh, NY–Region I

Jody Heavner–Pittsfield, IL–Region III

Cody McPherson–Geary, OK–Region IV

Tony Boehm–Wahpeton, ND–Region V


Teacher of the Year Award

Debra Walker–Bladensburg, MD–Region I

Mary Hoffmann–Sleepy Eye, MN–Region III

Leslie Powell–Durant, OK–Region IV

Geary Page–Saratoga Springs, UT–Region V


New Teacher of the Year Award

Michael Refsnider–Willow Grove, PA–Region I

Derek Grahn–Breckenridge, MN–Region III

Jenny Marroquin–Siloam Springs, AR–Region IV

Sammi Jo Sims–Ellensburg, WA–Region V


Administrator of the Year Award

Jenny Geno–Saginaw, MI–Region I

Lynne Benson–Vernon Hills, IL–Region III

Joyce McClellan–Tulsa, OK–Region IV

Cindy Arnold–Battle Ground, WA–Region V


Teacher Educator of the Year Award

Regina Spruill–Temple Hills, MD–Region I

Jay Solomonson–Normal, IL–Region III

Lucinda Francis–Norman, OK–Region IV

Dawn Mallette–Fort Collins, CO–Region V


Postsecondary Educator of the Year Award

Nicole Clarke–Largo, MD–Region I

Mike Eddy–White Bear Lake, MN–Region III

Nancy Howell–Lawton, OK–Region IV

Eric Knoll–Lincoln, NE–Region V


Counseling and Career Development Professional Award

Laura Saline–Howell, MI–Region I

Molly Bonnett–Forest Lake, MN–Region III

Misty Bible–Idabel, OK–Region IV

Kellie Meyer–Minot, ND–Region V


Lifetime Achievement Award

Lisa Stange–Johnston, IA–Region III

Bobbi Eichhorst–Santa Fe, NM–Region IV

Dan Rood–Wahpeton, ND–Region V


Note: National finalists from Region II will be announced after the Region II conference from October 3-7.


About ACTE:

The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.