ACTE Announces Minnesota Business Education Teacher as National Award Finalist


September 20, 2022 

Contact: Dominique Frascoia 


ACTE Announces Minnesota Business Education Teacher as National Award Finalist 


ALEXANDRIA, VA—Today, the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) announced Derek Grahn, Business Education Teacher at Breckenridge High School in Breckenridge, Minnesota, as the 2022 ACTE Region III New Teacher of the Year. This award recognizes the finest career and technical education (CTE) teachers at the middle/secondary school level who have demonstrated innovation in the classroom, commitment to their students and dedication to the improvement of CTE in their institutions and communities.

Derek Grahn is the former Business Education instructor at Breckenridge Public Schools where he taught for six years. Breckenridge Public School District is a public school district located in Breckenridge, MN. It has 636 students in grades PK, K-12 with a student-teacher ratio of 15 to 1.  During Derek Grahn’s time at the Breckenridge School District, his focus has been on career and college readiness, exposure to a variety of industry professionals, and receiving experiences to prepare them for their life after high school. Mr. Grahn has created sequencing starting for students in 8th grade STEM to begin researching different careers and industries and presenting their findings on a student showcase night for the community. Sequencing continues with Introduction to Business, Marking, or Finance courses with higher level courses available in Accounting, Entrepreneurship, Law, Marketing, and Technology (Computer Applications, Graphic Design, and Website Design) and well as teaching a required Personal Finance course with an Advanced Personal Finance course available for high-achieving students. Currently, Derek Grahn runs the Entrepreneurship Opportunities Program in partnership with the Southern Valley EDA and works with Golden Path Solutions promoting Work-Based Learning and Career Exploration for students across the state of North Dakota and into Minnesota. Derek Grahn was also a part of the Minnesota Education Policy Fellowship to advocate for education at both state and national levels 

Grahn is one of five finalists for the 2023 national title. The national winner will be announced at the ACTE Awards Gala, an award presentation recognizing the best CTE educators in the country. The event will take place on November 30, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. The Awards Gala is sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, Goodheart-Willcox and Stratasys. For more information about the ACTE Excellence Awards, visit our webpage. 



About ACTE
The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.