Region I

DC   |   Massachussetts   |   Connecticut   |   Delaware   |   Maryland   |   Maine   |   Michigan   |   New Hampshire   |   New Jersey   |   New York   |   Ohio   |   Pennsylvania   |   Rhode Island   |   Vermont   |   West Virginia


Douglas Bush
ACTE Region I Vice President

About Region I


ACTE promotes high quality CTE programs for diverse audiences. We continue to build an inclusive culture that encourages, supports and celebrates the diversity of the CTE community. We are committed to equity, access, inclusion, and diversity throughout our organization.

Meet the Region I Award Winners


Administrator of the Year
Richard Kincaid

Deanna Burch

Carl Perkins Community Service Award
Deanna Burch

Lindy Daman

Counseling and Career-Development Professional Award
Lindy Daman

Scott Westenberg

Lifetime Achievement Award
Scott Westenberg

Josephine Wolfe

New Teacher of the Year
Josephine Wolfe

Lisa Pierce

Postsecondary Professional of the Year
Lisa Pierce


Teacher of the Year
Aris Pangilina

Teacher Educator of the Year
Crystal Smith

Congratulations to the 2022 Seamless Work-Based Learning Professional of the Year

Meet the 2022 Seamless Work-Based Learning Professional of the Year Award: Tony Trapp

After 15 years as an educator in the HVAC program, Tony Trapp was named the Work-Based Learning/Apprenticeship coordinator for Upper Valley Career Center in Piqua, Ohio, a position he has held for the past 10 years. As a result of his dynamic leadership, the program has grown exponentially and now serves nearly 200 students annually. Tony has built strong partnerships with business and industry. He hosts an outstanding and active advisory committee, composed of employers from a six-county area. As the Work-Based Learning/Apprenticeship coordinator, Tony works with employers to hire students meeting stringent criteria during their junior year in a career and technical program. He oversees the students in their school-to-work placements, allowing them to “earn while they learn”. In addition, he works with industry mentors, lab instructors, legislators, parents, and students to ensure student-employer opportunities and success. Tony’s efforts to establish and increase state recognized pre-apprenticeship programs has led to opportunities to present at numerous national, state, and regional meetings. He is in demand for his knowledge and expertise. In 2017, he was one of eight national programs selected by the USDOE Office of Career Technical Education to highlight best practices in connecting CTE and apprenticeship opportunities. Also in 2017, Tony was able to implement an International Partnership with a sister school in Hannover Germany where they have an ongoing German/American career technical apprenticeship exchange program set in place.

Events & Programs

Archived Documents