2021 ACTE Administrator of the Year

December 3, 2020

Contact: Megan Kmiotek

ACTE Announces Minnesota Secondary Director as 2021 National Winner

ALEXANDRIA, VA—Today, the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) announced Jean Rakun, Career and Technical Education (CTE)/ Perkins Coordinator and Hennepin West Perkins Consortium Secondary Director at Wayzata Public Schools Plymouth, Minnesota, as the 2021 ACTE Administrator of the Year. This award recognizes administrative CTE professionals at the school, district, county, state, or federal level who have demonstrated leadership in ensuring teacher and student success and have made significant contributions toward innovative, unique and effective career and technical education programs. The Administrator of the Year Award is sponsored by Goodheart-Willcox.

Jean Rakun currently serves as the Career and Technical Education (CTE) and Perkins Coordinator for Wayzata Public Schools in Wayzata, Minnesota. Rakun is also the secondary Perkins leader for the Hennepin West Perkins Consortium – a partnership of eleven high schools and two community/technical colleges.  For the past twelve years, she has provided direct support to district and consortium secondary CTE teachers and their programs and activities. Her charge is creating innovative opportunities and access to high wage, in-demand career pathways for over 14,000 high school CTE students. Rakun has been an active member of ACTE for fifteen years.

“Thank you to the 2021 Excellence Award winners and finalists for sharing your talents and leadership with students across the nation. Goodheart-Willcox is excited to honor you and recognize your outstanding achievements. Your positive influence has made a difference in the lives of many,” said Todd Scheffers, Chief Sales and Marketing Officer for Goodheart-Willcox. “As a proud sponsor of the ACTE Excellence Awards, this partnership with ACTE reinforces our longstanding commitment to preparing students for success in college and the workplace. Together, we build careers.”

Rakun was one of five finalists for the 2021 national title. The national winner was announced at the ACTE Virtual Awards Gala, the first virtual presentation recognizing the best CTE educators in the country. The event took place on Thursday afternoon, December 3, during ACTE’s Virtual CareerTech VISION 2020. The Awards Gala was sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, CareerSafe, Goodheart-Willcox, eDynamic Learning and Stratasys. For more information about the ACTE Excellence Awards, visit our webpage.


About ACTE
The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.