ACTE Announces 2024 National Award Finalists

September 25, 2023

In Press Releases


Updated October 14, 2023

Contact: Dominique Frascoia

ACTE Announces 2024 National Award Finalists

ALEXANDRIA, VA—Today, the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) announced its 2024 national finalists in eight different award categories for its five national regions. Finalists were announced for Teacher of the Year, Postsecondary Educator of the Year, Administrator of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Teacher Educator of the Year, Counseling and Career Development Professional Award, Lifetime Achievement and Carl Perkins Community Service Awards.

The national winner will be announced at the ACTE Awards Gala, an award presentation recognizing the best CTE educators in the country. The event will take place on November 29 at 7:00 p.m. The Awards Gala is sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, Goodheart-Willcox, The Army, and Stratasys. For more information about the ACTE Excellence Awards, visit our webpage.

Carl Perkins Community Service Award
Deanna Burch – Havre de Grace, MD – Region I
Alicia Jordan – Fairburn, GA  – Region II
Paul Aarsvold – Plainview, MN – Region III
Robby Branscum – Stillwater, OK – Region IV
Kip Hansen – Monroe, UT – Region V

Teacher of the Year Award
Aris Pangilinan – Washington, DC – Region I
Karen Roberts – Portsmouth, VA – Region II
Pamela Koenen – Alden, MN – Region III
Karen Upton – Oklahoma City, OK – Region IV
Jason Goble – Salina, UT – Region V

New Teacher of the Year Award
Josephine Wolfe – Severn, MD – Region I
Clifton Williams – Lilburn, GA – Region II
Becky Cronk – St. James, MN – Region III
Mindy Lyle – Mena, AR – Region IV
McKayla Gonder Plewe – Cedar City, UT – Region V

Administrator of the Year Award
Richard Kincaid – Baltimore, MD – Region I
Tyra Pilgrim – Murfreesboro, Tennessee – Region II
Troy Haugen – Fergus Fall, MN – Region III
Kady Donaghey – Weatherford, TX – Region IV
Rod Belnap – Hooper, UT – Region V

Teacher Educator of the Year Award
Crystal Smith – Washington, DC – Region I
Elaine Adams – Athens, GA – Region II
Laura Van Waardhuizen – Ames, IA – Region III
Bonner Slayton – Norman, OK – Region IV
Lisa Krumwiede – Valley City, ND – Region V

Postsecondary Educator of the Year Award
Lisa Pierce-Burger – Newark, OH – Region I
Angela Gott – Bowling Green, KY – Region II
Ashlee Spannagel – Burlington, IA – Region III
Patricia Edmunds – Russellville, AR – Region IV
Justin Brereton – Chino Valley, AZ – Region V

Counseling and Career Development Professional Award
Lindy Daman – Mason, MI – Region I
Kelly Michelle Hoff – Havelock, NC – Region II
Gena Gesing – Calmar, IA – Region III
Merrilee Saige-Alvarez – Las Cruces, NM – Region IV
Kristina Guy – Surprise, AZ – Region V

Lifetime Achievement and Hall of Fame Award
Scott Westenberg – Mason, MI – Region I
James Bartlett – Norfolk, VA – Region II
Sandra Miller – Williamsburg, IA – Region III
Nina Morgan – Wilburton, OK – Region IV
Jan Jardine – Provo, UT – Region V


About ACTE:

The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.


# # # # # #