ACTE Announces 2021 National Award Finalists

Updated October 5, 2020

Contact: Hannah Neeper

ACTE Announces 2021 National Award Finalists

ALEXANDRIA, VA—Today, the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) announced its 2021 national finalists in eight different award categories. Finalists were announced for Teacher of the Year, Postsecondary Teacher of the Year, Administrator of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Teacher Educator of the Year, Counseling and Career Development Professional Award, Lifetime Achievement and Carl Perkins Community Service Awards.

The national winner will be announced at the virtual ACTE Awards Gala, an award presentation recognizing the best CTE educators in the country. The event will take place on Thursday, December 3 at noon, during ACTE’s Virtual CareerTech VISION. The Awards Gala is sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, Goodheart-Willcox, CareerSafe, eDynamic and Stratasys. For more information about the ACTE Excellence Awards, visit our webpage.

Teacher of the Year Award

Kristina Guttadora–Freehold, NJ–Region I

Luke Riddle–Williamston, SC–Region II

Kandy Smitha–Indianapolis, IN–Region III

Amanda Eastridge-English–Oklahoma City, OK–Region IV

Kitti Wheeler–Lakewood, WA–Region V

Postsecondary Teacher of the Year Award

Terry Morse–University Center, MI–Region I

Kimberly Lee Mitchell–Jacksonville, AL–Region II

Krystle Gremaud–Warrensburg, MO–Region III

Cecil Wainscott–Stillwater, OK–Region IV

Nicole Hampton–Flagstaff, AZ–Region V

Administrator of the Year Award

Nicole Zergebel–Bellport, NY–Region I

Christopher Bailey–Jacksonville, NC–Region II

Jean Rakun–Plymouth, MN–Region III

Teresa Pinkston–Tulsa, OK–Region IV

Aron Schmidt–Vail, AZ–Region V

New Teacher of the Year Award

Jennifer Probst–Spencerport, NY–Region I

Kaitlin Van Heusen–Starke, FL–Region II

Lisa Orren–Redwood Falls, MN–Region III

Jennifer Snyder–Jonesboro, AR–Region IV

Lori Merrill–Wilcox, AZ–Region V

Teacher Educator of the Year Award

Dale Layfield–Clemson, SC–Region II

Sally Arnett-Hartwick–Normal, IL–Region III

Cynthia Miller–Portales, NM–Region IV

Carol Erwin–Wayne, NE–Region V

Counseling and Career Development Professional Award

Rosalie Sauter–West Nyack, NY–Region I

Brian Elliott–Concord, NC–Region II

Laura Cook–Park Ridge, IL–Region III

Tracy Hardy–Kosciusko, MS–Region IV

Nora Zollweg–Bremerton, WA–Region V

Lifetime Achievement Award

Constance Spohn–Rexford, NY–Region I

Judith Sams–Richmond, VA–Region II

Marth Eldredge Stark–Park Ridge, IL–Region III

Brenda Drawdy–Killeen, TX–Region IV

Lisa Doll–Chandler, AZ–Region V

Carl Perkins Community Service Award

Tammy Camel–Mt. Vernon, KY–Region II

Lorin Curtis–Joplin, MO–Region III

Kristal McCathern–Ardmore, OK–Region IV

Rachel Aszklar–Summer, WA–Region V

Note: National finalists from Region II will be announced after the Region II conference on October 1-3.


About ACTE
The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.