House/Senate CTE Caucus

The bipartisan House and Senate CTE Caucuses were formed constituents and communities about the importance of CTE in America’s education system. The caucuses serve as a platform for legislators from both chambers to collaborate, innovate and advocate for robust CTE policies that empower individuals with the skills and knowledge needed for success in evolving career pathways. From promoting expanding Pell Grant access and work-based learning initiatives to advocating for increased funding and resources for CTE programs, the caucuses are dedicated to raising awareness of a comprehensive CTE agenda that addresses the needs of learners and employers alike. By fostering bipartisan dialogue and cooperation, the caucuses help us to harness the power of CTE to build a skilled workforce, strengthen communities, and ensure America’s continued leadership in the global marketplace.

House CTE Caucus:

House CTE Caucus Membership List
If your representative is not a member, contact them today using the CTE Action Center!

House Caucus Co-chairs

Rep Thompson Official Photo
Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA)

Rep. Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR)

Senate CTE Caucus:

Senate CTE Caucus Membership List
If either of your senators is not a member of the Caucus, you can encourage them to join by sending them a message through the CTE Action Center.

Senate Caucus Co-chairs

Sen Kaine Official Photo
Sen. Tim Kaine (D-VA)
Todd Young
Sen. Todd Young (R-IN)

Sen. Tedd Budd (R-NC)
Sen Baldwin Official Photo
Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI)

Latest Caucus News:

The latest updates on CTE Caucus activities can be found on the CTE Caucus section of the CTE Policy Watch blog.


In 2007, former Congressmen Brain Baird (D-WA) and Phil English (R-PA) launched the Congressional Career and Technical Education Caucus in the U.S. House of Representatives to raise awareness of and support for the CTE community and lead on legislation related to these issues. As those members left Congress, the Caucus leadership was filled by Congressmen Glenn “GT” Thompson (R-PA) and James Langevin (D-RI). Rep. Langevin retired at the end of the 117th Congress, and Rep. Suzanne Bonamici joined the Caucus as the new Democratic co-chair in 2023.

In February 2014, Sens. Tim Kaine (D-VA) and Rob Portman (R-OH) partnered to launch the Senate Career and Technical Education Caucus in conjunction with CTE Month. The senators were later joined as co-chairs by Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Mike Enzi (R-WY). As co-chairs, these senators have worked to call attention to CTE as a proven method for promoting America’s continued economic growth and ensuring that our students have the skills they need to succeed. In February 2015, Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA) began work as co-chair of the caucus in place of Sen. Enzi, who had taken on other commitments. In January 2017, Sen. Todd Young (R-IN) joined the caucus leadership as co-chair in place of Sen. Isakson. Sen. Ted Budd (R-NC) took over for Sen. Portman who retired at the end of his term in 2022.

Resources & Statements: