ACTE Region I Policy Committee Minutes Wednesday, May 4, 2022 8:00 am - 10:00 am In Person and Zoom Meeting

Call to Order and Introductions:

Carrie Scheiderer

Carrie welcomed the members and guests to the Region 1 Policy Committee meeting and thanked everyone for their participation. Minutes from the ACTE Region I Policy meeting from Dec 1, 2021, meeting, agenda and other materials were provided by email to all members by Deborah Chapman, Region I Secretary and Carrie Scheiderer, VP. Meeting was called to order at 8:03 am.

Carrie asked those attending in person or virtually to introduce themselves. Deborah Chapman, WV, Douglas Bush, MI, Carrie Scheiderer, OH, Michael Grubbs, MD, Dave Keaton, ME, Jim Berry, MI, Scott Rogers, PA, Matt Brown, OH, Jon Quatman, OH, Ann Rush, OH, Harmoni Keller, OH, Donna Eakins, OH, Jason Vesey, OH, Joanne Mahony, MI, Connie Costley NY, Carol Harnett, MA, Frank Yesalavich, NJ, Jennifer Haskins, NH.

Approval of agenda for May 4, 2022

Frank Yesalavich moved to accept the agenda as presented. Dave Keaton seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Approval of December 2021 Policy Committee minutes

Deborah Chapman

Jon Quatman moved to accept the minutes from December 1, 2021. Dave Keaton seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

Mike Conett from ACTE gave the committee updates on Vision in Las Vegas. He also updated the committee on legislation and Perkins projections.

Region 1 Conference

Ann Rush and Michael Grubbs

Ann Rush thanked everyone (especially the Michigan delegation) that has helped put together a great conference. Carrie provided conference program booklets to those that wanted one.

Ann asked the committee members to sign up to be room captains. All sessions were covered by policy committee members. Tour captains have been assigned. Ann asked for help in assembling conference bags.

Carrie updated members on the time for our ACTE Region 1 business meeting. The meeting will be held Friday, May 6, 2022, at 8:00 am.

Jim Berry updated everyone on the awards ceremony. There have been 130 people register for the conference. Michael Grubbs reported that we had 25 exhibitors and 6 conference sponsors.

ACTE Region 1 Positions- VP and Awards Chair

Carrie Scheiderer

June 15th is the deadline for nominations for regional vice president. See Carrie if you know someone that would like to run for regional vice president. We must have two candidates to proceed with voting.

Carrie explained the process if two candidates are not nominated. According to ACTE procedures, if we do not have two candidates, then the ACTE board will select the new VP Elect.

The committee will need a new awards chair. Discussion was held on possibilities for awards chair. The position is a two-year term. See Carrie or Jim Berry if you would like to be considered for this position.

ACTE Region 1 Financial and Membership Report

Carrie Scheiderer

Region 1 financial report and membership report were viewed on screen.

Region I Standing Committee Reports

Audit Frank Yesalavich

No report at this time.

Awards Jim Berry

Jim Berry presented the awards report. He related several concerns to the committee. There were some issues of using the awards portal. Region 1 Best in CTE Award categories require an ACTE membership, such as the Business, Industry, Education partner awards, and that has been a barrier to people completing applications. Jim will get with Megan at ACTE to work on the concern. Discussion was held on how to recruit for the awards program and the process. Jim will take concerns back to the awards committee. Carrie will bring up our concern about honoring lifetime awards to the ACTE board.

Bylaws Doug Bush

There will be a meeting in July to discuss a new amendment. More details to follow.

Nominating Don Jarvis

No report

Region 1 Future Conference(s) Conference

Future site discussion was held. Dave Keaton moved that we <u>tentatively</u> select the Boston MA area for the 2023 Region conference and NYC for the 2024 conference. Carol will work with the Massachusetts delegation to firm up details. Matt Brown seconded the motion. Motion was passed.

Region 1 Vice President Report

Carrie Scheiderer

Carrie presented the financial report for region 1 as of March 2022. Jon Quatman moved that expenses from Vision 2021 be taken from operating funds. Dave Keaton seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Jon Quatman moved that policy members that attend ACTE Region 1 in person be reimbursed no more than \$300.00 to off set expenses to the conference. Dave Keaton seconded the motion. Motion passed. Carrie will send out the paperwork needed to be completed and send to ACTE. Members were reminded that receipts must be provided to be reimbursed.

Carrie presented the budget template for the coming year. Dave Keaton moved to approve the operating budget for FY 23. Frank Yesalavich seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Discussion was held about offering a hybrid version to regional events at VISION in Nov./Dec 2022. Frank moved that we offer only an in-person meetings at VISION unless there were changes in the Covid situation. Dave Keaton seconded the motion. Motion passed.

ACTE Region 1 Policy committee **will tentatively** meet Wednesday, November 30, 2022, from 8-10 am. ACTE Region 1 business meeting **will tentatively** be held Wednesday, November 30, 2022, 3:15-4:15 pm. We will confirm dates and times with Vision program.

Due to time limitations, please send state updates and information for the newsletter to Carrie. Jon Quatman moved that Region 1 sponsor a an extra new CTE fellow. Dave Keaton seconded the motion. Motion passed.

Carrie will send out strategic plan updates.

Being no further business, Dave Keaton moved to adjourn the meeting. Frank Yesalavich seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 10:00 am

Respectfully submitted by,

Deborah Chapman ACTE Region 1 Secretary

ACTE Region1 Excellence Award	Name		
2023			
Administrator of the Year	Jenny Geno		
Lifetime Achievement	N/A		
New Teacher of the Year	Michael Refsnider		
Teacher Educator of the Year	Dr. Regin Spruill		
Carl Perkins Community Service	Linda Romano		
Teacher of the Year	Deb Walker		
Counseling/Career Dev. Prof.	Laura Hoehn		
Postsecondary Teacher of Year	Nicole Clarke		
Region 1 Best in CTE Awards			
Jim Hannemann Memorial	Doug Bush		
Outstanding Business/Education	N/A		
Partnership			
Scott Westbrook III Humanitarian	Frank Caccavale		
Innovative Career and Technical Education	Frank Caccavale		
School Board Recognition	N/A		
2021 Scott Westbrook III Humanitarian Daniel Murphy			