President Shares Board Goals

Jon Severson, Hub Area Technical School

During our Board of Directors Retreat this fall we worked on goals for the coming year. One of these goals deals with developing a transition model for the incoming board members. This will benefit the incoming division presidents in understanding what their role will be when becoming a board member the following year.



Our second goal is to develop a strategy for sharing Perkins/ CTE data with the organizations involved in CTE funding. Read Erik Person's article on the front page of this newsletter outlining the need and the "how to". **Then submit that success story by December 9th !!!**

The third goal is to revise our committee structures. This will be accomplished with the cooperation of the current committee chairs and the SDACTE Board of Directors. Because of everyone's busy schedules, some committees may not meet as often as they need to. Jim Wilson addresses this concern in his article.

Congratulations and thanks to all of you who visited with state Board of Education members or posted your support of the benefits of adding CTE courses to the graduation requirements on <u>http://www.doe.sd.gov/oatq/gradrequirements/</u> Your efforts were rewarded! The Board of Education voted last Monday for the flexibility of students to apply career and technical education courses toward meeting the state requirements.

Conference Taskforce Update

Erik Person, Administration Division President

The other day I was visiting with some climate control consultants who stopped by our school. These guys had worked on our boiler before and were familiar with our system, so we were talking about efficiency upgrades, the life expectancy of our current system (original equipment from 1937), and the performance of a new system versus our current system. A comment that one of the guys made stuck in my head and seems to be relevant to the topic at hand: our SDACTE Summer Conference. He said, "No matter what you do, if you get more than two people in a room, one is going to be hot and one is going to be cold." As the SDACTE Board of Directors wrestles with all of the variables that go into putting on a quality conference, we are faced with a similar dilemma – we cannot please everyone. Having said that, I would like to speak for the Board and update our membership on what we are looking at with future conference dates and locations.

The Board has directed me to head up a committee that will study what our membership wants in a conference, what makes sense for a quality conference, and ultimately make a recommendation to the board. The SDACTE Board of Directors will have the final say, but what the members want matters. Also, please note that the board is not necessarily dissatisfied with Pierre, or the first week of August.

We just want to make sure that we continue to have a great conference year after year. Because of contractual obligations, next year's conference will definitely be in Pierre on the corresponding date. After that, we shall see.

A while back many of you filled out a survey online. Thank you. The data was a tremendous help. However, as the committee studied the data, we all noticed that some were hot and some were cold when we talked about the location and the date of conference. We need more data, and after having the first survey results to look at, we could see what additional information we need to gather to find out what will be best to maximize attendance and overall conference experience. We will be asking you to fill out another survey in the next couple of weeks with some specific, targeted questions on it. The survey will be short and sweet, and your input is vital. After we get those survey results, the Task Force will meet again to make a recommendation to the SDACTE Board of Directors at the Board's December 9th meeting.

Time To Rework Our Committee System

Jim Wilson, Past President

The use of committees has been a long-standing tradition within our organization. It is a tradition that needs to be looked at carefully. This year the Board of Directors is thinking about possibly reworking and restructuring our committees to make them more functional.

We currently have six standing committees. The Awards, Scholarship, Legislative, and Auditing committees all have duties that need to be performed in some manner each year. They are also part of our bylaws. The Membership Committee is not a part of our bylaws. The Resolution Committee only meets at conference when there is a need. Do we really need all six committees? Are they a good use of everyone's time and energy?

The Board is going to take a hard look at these committees over the winter and would like your input on their structure and effectiveness. If you have served on a committee in the past, I would welcome an e-mail on your opinion about these committees. I can be reached at jim.wilson@k12.sd.us.

Scholarship Committee

Kathy Bierscheid, Chairperson Lake Area Multi District Kathy.bierscheid@k12.sd.us

John Emmett, Administration Hub Area Technical School

Gary Griesse, Ag Division Brandon Valley High School

Kristie Olson, Business/Mkt Division Hitchcock-Tulare School District

Brigitte Brucklacher, FACS Division Philip School District

John Gillaspie, T & I Division Evergreen High School

Future Conference Task Force

Erik Person, Chairperson Burke School <u>Erik.person@k12.sd.us</u>

Bobbie Jo Donovan, Ag Rapid City Stevens

Elaine Peiffer, Business/Marketing Huron High School

Sharry Knock, FACS DeSmet School District

Trent Theye, T & I/Tech Ed Lake Area Technical Institue

Awards Committee

Roberta Stoebner, Co-Chair Menno School District Roberta.stoebner@k12.sd.us

Dianne Rider, Administration Lake Area Multi-District

Pandi Pittman, Ag Divisio

Lenessa Keehn, Business/Marketing Lead-Deadwood

Mary Jo Parker, FACS Division Lake Andes

Jerry Taylor, T & I Hub Area Technical School

Legislative Committee

Coleen Keffler, Co-Chair Strugis-Brown High School <u>Coleen.keffeler@k12.sd.us</u>

Erik Person, Co-Chair Burke School Erik.person@k12.sd.us

Kent Frerichs - Ag Division Wilmont

Kristina Sage, Business/Marketing Freeman School District

Charlotte Mohling, FACS Division Wessington Springs High School

James Pederson, T & I Division East Central Multi District

Membership Committee

Denise Campbell, Co-Chair Crow Creek Middle School <u>niseala@aim.com</u> or

Jim Kayl, Administration Washington High School

Floyd Lehman, Ag Division Lake Area Technical Institute

Doug Barnes, Business/Marketing DIAL Virtual School

Deb Van Hove, FACS Division Sioux Falls Roosevelt

Steve Schlaht, T & I Division Lake Area Multi District

Resolutionis Committee

Myron Sonne, Co-Chair Mitchell Technical Institute Myron.sonne@mitchelltech.edu

John Heemstra, Administration Mitchell Technical Institute

Elaine Peiffer, Business/Marketing Huron High School

Kathy Olsen, FACS Division Hitchcock-Tulare School District

Jeff Schlepp, T & I Division Southeast Technical Institute