Spotlight on postsecondary leadership

Techniques launched a digital-exclusive spotlight series on fellows in the Postsecondary Leadership Success Program at ACTE – Sponsored by ECMC Foundation. The program offers a professional development experience intended to grow the organizational leadership and management skills of postsecondary CTE professionals. Each year, 20 selected fellows work with a dedicated mentor, attend monthly webinars and complete rigorous assignments.

Techniques interviewed the 2021 PLSP-ECMC Foundation fellows.

We asked them:

  • What leadership skills do you hope to develop as part of the program?
  • How have you innovated to engage students & inspire colleagues through the COVID-19 pandemic?
  • What steps can educators take to improve equitable access to high-quality CTE programs of study?

And the fellows have valuable information to share. Firstly, hear from Tiffanie Rosier, STEM education coordinator at Northern Virginia Community College. She encouraged educators to “take a SWOT analysis approach. Provide stakeholders with the information, activities and resources to identify strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats (SWOT) related to the programming they develop and implement. This activity can help identify strategies for creating more equitable, high-quality CTE programs.”

Also, “create opportunities for training while recognizing that educators have different needs. Everyone exists in different stages of awareness.”

Learn more about the Postsecondary Leadership Success Program at ACTE – Sponsored by ECMC Foundation.

Then meet the fellows:

  • Tiffanie Rosier, STEM educator coordinator at Northern Virginia Community College
  • Tachaka Hollins, assistant vice chancellor for academic affairs at the Tennessee Board of Regents
  • Tracey D. Cooper, executive director of nursing at Temple College
  • Bernie Phelps, director of Perkins, Perkins Rural Reserve and dual enrollment at Montana Tech, Highlands College
  • Vickie Thomas, director of the Center for Workforce and Community Development at Eastern New Mexico University – Roswell
  • Moira Lafayette, dean of health sciences and public safety at Blackhawk Technical College
  • Brad Kinsinger, director of the Global Agriculture Learning Center at Hawkeye Community College
  • Eric Sewell, director of technical education at Southern Union State Community College
  • C.J. Wurster, district director at Maricopa County Community College District