ACTE Announces 2020 National Award Winners

December 5, 2019

Contact: Jarrod Nagurka, 703-683-9312

ACTE Announces 2020 National Award Winners

ALEXANDRIA, VA — Today, the Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) announced its 2020 national award winners in eight different award categories. Winners were announced for the Teacher of the Year, Postsecondary Teacher of the Year, Teacher Educator of the Year, Administrator of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Career Guidance, Lifetime Achievement and Carl Perkins Community Service Awards. ACTE named its national finalists earlier this year.

The national winners were announced at the ACTE Awards Gala, a dinner and award presentation recognizing the best CTE educators in the country. The event took place on Wednesday evening, December 4, during ACTE’s CareerTech VISION 2019 in Anaheim, California. The Awards Gala was sponsored by Express Employment Professionals, CareerSafe, Goodheart-Willcox, eDynamic Learning and Stratasys. For more information about the ACTE Excellence Awards, visit our webpage.

Teacher of the Year Award
Kimberly Wilson—Alexandria, VA

Postsecondary Teacher of the Year Award
Jan Held Woodworth—Oswego, NY

Administrator of the Year Award
Laura Arnold—Bardstown, KY

New Teacher of the Year Award
Beth Brumley—Tuscumbia, AL

Teacher Educator of the Year
Chris Merrill—Normal, IL

Career Guidance Award
Candace McGowan—Grapevine, TX

Lifetime Achievement Award
Thomas Applegate—Westerville, OH

Carl Perkins Community Service Award
Jessica Daberkow—Sherburn, MN


About ACTE
The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.