ACTE 2021 Fellowship Program Participants Announced

November 4, 2020

Media Contact: Hannah Neeper; 703-683-9327

ACTE 2021 Fellowship Program Participants Announced

Alexandria, VA – The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) has announced the selection of 24 participants for its National Leadership Fellowship Program, which provides educators with an opportunity to enhance their leadership skills and involvement in professional organizations. The program identifies, trains, and motivates a cadre of leaders who will continue to advance efforts which support an educated, prepared, adaptable and competitive workforce.

The Fellowship Program is a one-year commitment from January 1 through December 31, 2021. Each of ACTE’s five regions and the majority of Divisions are represented in the program. In addition to more experienced educators, this year’s fellowship class again includes a cohort of new professionals, geared towards those with 2-5 years of CTE experience. The 2021 class of fellows is listed below, with an asterisk (*) denoting the cohort of new professionals.

  • Michael Herrera—Region I—Perkasie, PA
  • Michele Leonardo*—Region I—Baldwin, NY
  • Kim Burt—Region II—Ocala, FL
  • Karen Roberts—Region II—Portsmouth, VA
  • Laura Smith—Region II—Abingdon, VA
  • Carmel Dare*—Region III—Rolla, MO
  • Kaleb Smith—Region III—Edwardsville, IL
  • Brenda Anderson—Region IV—Oklahoma City, OK
  • Paul Boff—Region IV—Round Rock, TX
  • Natalie Donnelly*—Region IV—Albuquerque, NM
  • Sandra Kellogg—Region V—Salem, OR
  • Sue Key – Region V – Torrance, CA
  • Emma Moss*—Region V—Sandy, UT
  • Wendy Perry—Administration Division—Norman, OK
  • Juliana Probst*—Administration Division—Elmore, AL
  • Ashley Thompson*—Agricultural Education Division—Norman, OK
  • Zachary Johnson*—Business Education Division—North Kansas City, MO
  • Jennifer Tupper*—Counseling & Career Development Division—Norman, OK
  • Cory Ortiz*— Engineering & Technology Education Division—Ogden, UT
  • Douglas Jones*—Health Science Education Division—Stillwater, OK
  • Russell Parker – New and Related Services Division – Concord, NC
  • Jenna Fox*—Postsecondary, Adult & Career Education Division—Port Charlotte, FL
  • Matthew White—Trade & Industrial Education Division—Statesboro, GA
  • Russell Parker—OK PACE—Tulsa, OK

The fellows are required to complete several activities throughout the year, including conducting an in-person visit with a local, state and federal legislator, writing blog posts, attending at least two required events and submitting a final summary of their accomplishments to ACTE’s Board of Directors.

Cindy Stover will serve as the Fellowship Coordinator through 2021.  She currently serves as the executive director of Illinois ACTE, and previously served as the ACTE Region III Vice President. She has extensive CTE experience, including leading different CTE centers.

Doug Major and Dr. Dawn Lindsley have been selected to serve as the 2022-2023 Fellowship Coordinators.

For more information regarding the application and requirements, please visit the ACTE Fellowship Program page.


About ACTE
The Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) is the nation’s largest not-for-profit association committed to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for successful careers. ACTE represents the community of CTE professionals, including educators, administrators, researchers, school counselors, guidance and career development professionals and others at all levels of education. ACTE is committed to excellence in providing advocacy, public awareness and access to resources, professional development and leadership opportunities.