Invalid username and/or password.

Forgot Password?

Header Logo


ACTE Member Awards



The ACTE® Member Awards recognize excellence and dedication within the field of career and technical education among ACTE members. Recipients of these awards are exceptional individuals who have contributed to the success of CTE through the quality of their work and their involvement in the CTE community.  

There are seven Member Awards presented nationally: 

ACTE Teacher of the Year
This award recognizes the finest career and technical teachers at the middle/secondary school level who have demonstrated innovation in the classroom, commitment to their students and dedication to the improvement of CTE in their institutions and communities. Members employed as full-time classroom/laboratory CTE teachers at the middle/secondary school level are eligible recipients of this award.

ACTE Career Guidance Award 
This award recognizes guidance counselors and career development professionals who have made significant contributions to advocate, educate and communicate the value of CTE as a viable career option to a variety of audiences in their communities. Members employed as full-time school counselors and/or career development professionals are eligible recipients of this award.

ACTE Postsecondary Teacher of the Year
This award recognizes career and technical teachers and teacher educators who have demonstrated excellence and best practices in career and technical education at the postsecondary level. Members employed as full-time postsecondary CTE teachers or teacher educators are eligible recipients of this award.  

ACTE Administrator of the Year
This award recognizes CTE administrators, program specialists/coordinators, and other CTE personnel who have made significant contributions toward innovative, unique and effective career and technical programs. Members employed as full-time CTE administrators, program specialists, coordinators, and all other CTE personnel and staff (not employed as teachers or guidance professionals) are eligible recipients of this award.

ACTE New Teacher of the Year
This award recognizes CTE teachers with 3-5 years’ experience (at the middle, secondary or postsecondary level) who have made significant contributions toward innovative and unique career and technical education programs and shown a professional commitment early in their careers. Members employed as full-time classroom/laboratory CTE teachers (at the secondary or postsecondary level) who are relatively new to the teaching profession (with 3-5 years' experience) are eligible recipients of this award.  

ACTE Carl Perkins Community Service Award
This award is presented to ACTE members who have used CTE to make a significant impact on a community/humanitarian cause through leadership in programs and activities that promote community involvement. This award was named in honor of the late Congressman Perkins, and is designed to recognize individuals who have demonstrated the same humanitarian concerns exemplified by Congressman Perkins.

ACTE Lifetime Achievement Award
This award recognizes the contributions and distinguished accomplishments of members who have been identified with the work and purposes of the Association for Career and Technical Education over an extended period of time. 

Awards Portal

Evaluation Criteria
All candidates are evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • Accomplishments and innovations that exhibit the quality of the candidate for the award
  • Contributions to the CTE community (can include activities within their institutions, communities, ACTE and other organizations)

For more information on how applications are scored, please see the national ACTE Member Awards Scoring Rubric. For more information on awards committee procedures, please review the national committee's Guiding Principles

Application Process
National Member Award candidates progress through three rounds of review:

  1. State Round: Candidates begin the application process by nominating themselves (or being nominated by a peer) for their state award. Candidates must hold the appropriate position at the time of initial nomination (eg. be a secondary school CTE teacher if applying for the Teacher of the Year.) 
  2. Region Round: State winners are reviewed within their Regions. All state winners must have their applications uploaded to the ACTE Awards Portal and be ACTE members by the March 1 Region deadline (nonmembers are not eligible to receive Region or national awards). Region winners are selected by their Region awards committees and announced during their Region conferences.
  3. National Round: Region winners' applications are forwarded to the final round of review via the Awards Portal by their Region committee chair. The national awards committee selects the national winners, which are announced at the ACTE Awards Banquet during ACTE's CareerTech VISION. Click here to learn more about national winner benefits.

How to Apply
Candidates should submit their applications on the ACTE Awards Portal by their state deadline. The application requirements can be downloaded here (note: this is not an application form. These requirements are included in the online application on the Awards Portal.) Also, be sure to check out our tip sheet for applicants: Writing a Strong Nomination.


Visit your state's page on the ACTE Awards Portal to view updated state deadlines and contact information. All state winners must be promoted forward for Region consideration by March 1. Region winner selections must be made no later than July 1.

Region Award Chairs (2014-2015)

Region I: Chet Wichowski

States: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Federal Career and Technical Association, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, West Virginia

Region II: Karen A. Curtis

States: Alabama, Bahamas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, Virginia

Region III: Deborah Diss

States: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, Wisconsin

Region IV: Ralph Mora (national committee representative); Donna McKethan (Region IV Chair) 

States: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region V:  Pam Stroklund 

States: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Trust Territories, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

If you have questions about the ACTE Member Awards, please contact ACTE staff at awards@acteonline.org.

Join Sq


Login above for access to member information


Join/Renew · Learn About Membership


Divisions · Regions · State Associations

Recommended Stories

What We Do

ACTE is committed to enhancing the job performance and satisfaction of its members; to increasing public awareness and appreciation for career and technical programs; and to assuring growth in local, state and federal funding for these programs by communicating and working with legislators and government leaders.



ACTE Calendar

Monday, March 13, 2017

National Policy Seminar 2017

Thursday, April 06, 2017

ACTE Region V Conference

View All Events