Header Logo


2014 NPS Update: Sens. Baldwin and Begich to Receive Policymaker of the Year Awards


February 21, 2014


2014 NPS Update: Sens. Baldwin and Begich to Receive Policymaker of the Year Award

ACTE is very pleased to announce that the Policymaker of the Year award will be presented to Sens. Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) and Mark Begich (D-AK) during the 2014 National Policy Seminar. This award is given annually by the ACTE Board of Directors to nationally recognized policymakers who have made a significant contribution to career and technical education during the past year

Sen. Begich is a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee and has been a strong support of federal funding for Perkins. He is the sponsor of the Counseling for Career Choice Act, which would provide support for school counselors to help students make informed decisions regarding their career and academic goals. ACTE is a proud supporter of this legislation, and we applaud the senator for his efforts to promote career guidance and counseling. Additionally, Sen. Begich introduced two bills in 2013 aimed at professional development for CTE educators (Professional Development for Educators Act)  and the modernization of CTE facilities (Career and Technical Education Facilities Modernization Act) respectively.

Throughout 2013, Sen. Baldwin has been a leader on CTE issues as member of the Senate Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) Committee. She is the sponsor of the Grantsfor Renewable Energy Education for the Nation (GREEN) Act , a bill that would encourage the development of technical programs of study  leading to careers in the green energy field. ACTE worked with Sen. Baldwin to introduce an amendment as part of the reauthorization of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). The amendment, which was adopted with bipartisan support in the HELP committee, would incorporate career readiness measures on state and school report cards for the first time. ACTE congratulates these two dedicated Members of Congress for their continued commitment to CTE!

The awards will be presented during the Offsite General Session at the Congressional Auditorium in the U.S. Capitol Visitors Center on Tuesday, March 4. The session will also feature remarks from the co-chairs of both the House and Senate CTE Caucuses, Rep. Glenn Thompson (R-PA) and Sen. Tim Kaine (D-VA). We hope you will join us in Washington on March 3-5, for NPS 2014!

My ACTE Login Image



Renew · Learn About Membership


Divisions · Regions · State Associations

CTE Policy Watch Blog

Education Leader George Miller to Retire

Rep. George Miller (D-CA), ranking member on the House Education and the Workforce Committee and winner of ACTE’s Policymaker of the Year Award, announced his retirement on Monday. He will not seek re-election in 2014.

House Passes FY 14 Omnibus Bill With Perkins Increase; Senate to Vote Soon

The FY 2014 omnibus appropriations bill passed overwhelmingly on the floor of the House of Representatives yesterday by a vote of 359-67. As we previously reported, the omnibus bill includes a $53 million increase for Perkins! The Senate is expected to vote on the measure before the end of the week. Please take a few minutes to reach out to your Senators and urge them to vote YES on this bill.


ACTE Calendar

Sunday, December 21, 2014

ACTE 2015 Election Closes

Monday, March 02, 2015

2015 National Policy Seminar

View All Events

Introducing the new
Visa® Platinum Rewards card.