Invalid username and/or password.

Forgot Password?

Header Logo


Arkansas Association for Career and Technical Education

Arkansas ACTE Scholarships



J. Marion Adams Divisional Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded in honor of the late J. Marion Adams. Adams was born on May 19, 1903, in Linty, Arkansas, and was a native of Conway County. He received a bachelor's degree from State Teacher's College (now the University of Central Arkansas in Conway) and a master's degree from George Peabody College in Nashville, Tennessee. He then began his career serving as both a teacher and a principal. Adams joined the Arkansas Department of Education in 1939. He was a pioneer in Arkansas' Vocation Education System and served as the state director of vocational education from 1945-1974, a span of some 29 years. During his tenure as director, he played an integral role in the formation of Arkansas' vocational school system. Adams was a lifetime member of the American Vocational Association and received that organization's Outstanding Service Award in 1971. A recipient of many vocational achievement awards for outstanding service, Adams dedicated his life to the education of others.

Application Procedure

The deadline for scholarship applications is Feb. 1. Each Division is allowed one secondary and one postsecondary scholarship. Sponsors may submit one application for each Division of which they are a member.

E-mail the following to ARACTEexecutivedirector@gmail.com in one e-mail, and request receipt verification:

Contact ARACTEexecutivedirector@gmail.com with any questions.

Scholarship Committee

  Chair: Arkansas ACTE Past President      
2013 Engineering and Technology Education Family and Consumer Sciences Education Guidance and Career Development Health Science Education
2014 Marketing Education New and Related Services Special Populations Trade and Industrial Education
2015 Administration Agricultural Education Business Education Postsecondary, Adult and Career Education

Past Winners

Name Division Sponsoring Teacher School
Ashley Steenberger Health Science Angela Scott Gravette High School
Ellissa Shepard Special Populations Cheryl Burns Bald Knob High School
Ashley Roden Agriculture Jimmie Tucker Smackover High School
Teighler Fabian Business Ann Ware Bald Knob High School
Lacy Patterson Marketing Sherry Siler Alma High School
Emily Taylor Hill Family and Consumer Sciences Cecilia Gray Pottsville High School
Maggie McGriff Engineering and Technology Vinson Carter Post-Secondary U of A

Join Sq


Login above for access to member information


Join/Renew · Learn About Membership


Divisions · Regions · State Associations


Arkansas ACTE Leadership

The Arkansas Association of Career and Technical Education's leadership consists of a board of directors and a number of committees.

Arkansas ACTE Awards

The Arkansas Association for Career and Technical Education Awards Program seeks to promote excellence in career and technical education by recognizing individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to the field, programs, divisions and organizations that exemplify the highest standards and that have conducted activities to promote and expand career and technical education.


ACTE Calendar

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

ACTE Region III Conference 2017

Monday, July 24, 2017

Missouri ACTE Summer Conference 2017

View All Events